Tag Archives: Lake Geneva

On May 14, 1996.

On May 14, 1996, “Carrot Top” label released “Milk and Scissors”, the second Handsome Family album. It was recorded 1995 – 199, at “Kingsize Sound Laboratories” in Chicago, Illinois, and was produced by Dave Trumfio, Brett Sparks, Rennie Sparks and Mike Werner.


  • Brett Sparks – vocals, guitar, dobro, organ, harmonica, lap steel
  • Rennie Sparks – vocals, bass
  • Mike Werner – percussion
  • Diane Murphy – band photo
  • Brad Miller – cover photo
  • Rennie & Mike, Sheila Sachs – design

Tracks listing:

All music by Brett Sparks, all lyrics by Rennie Sparks, except where noted.

  1. Lake Geneva
  2. Winnebago Skeletons
  3. Drunk By Noon
  4. The House Carpenter – traditional, arranged by Brett Sparks, Rennie Sparks and Mike Werner, inspired by Clarence Ashley’s 1930 recording
  5. The Dutch Boy
  6. The King Who Wouldn’t Smile
  7. Emily Shore 1819-1839
  8. 3-Legged Dog – Darrell Sparks
  9. #1 Country Song – Brett Sparks
  10. Amelia Earhart vs. The Dancing Bear
  11. Tin Foil
  12. Puddin’ Fingers – Mike Werner

In April 1983.

In April 1983, “Slash” label released the debut, self-titled Violent Femmes album. It was recorded July – September 1982, at “Castle Studios” in Lake Geneva, Wisconsin; “Music Works Studios” in London, and was produced by Mark Van Hecke. In 1991, the album was certified Platinum in the U.S. by the “RIIA”.


  • Victor DeLorenzo– snare drum, tranceaphone, drum set, Scotch marching bass drum, vocals
  • Gordon Gano– guitar, violin, lead vocals
  • Brian Ritchie– acoustic bass guitar, xylophone, electric bass guitar, vocals
  • Mark Van Hecke – production; piano
  • Luke W. Midkiff – percussion

Track listing:

All tracks written by Gordon Gano, except where noted.

  1. Blister in the Sun
  2. Kiss Off
  3. Please Don’t Go
  4. Add It Up
  5. Confessions
  6. Prove My Love
  7. Promise
  8. To the Kill
  9. Gone Daddy Gone – Gordon Dano, Willie Dixon
  10. Good feeling