Tag Archives: Gretta Cohn

On March 4, 2003.

On March 4, 2003, “Saddle Creek Records” label released “The Ugly Organ”, the fourth Cursive studio album. It was recorded in 2003, and was produced by Tim Kasher and Mike Mogis.


  • Tim Kasher- lead vocals, guitars, organ
  • Ted Stevens- guitars, backing vocals
  • Matt Maginn- bass
  • Clint Schnase- drums, percussion
  • Gretta Cohn– cello
  • Chris Acker – trombone
  • Jenny Lewis- additional vocals
  • Mike Mogis- vibraphone, keyboards, bells, rhythm guitar

The “Staying Alive” Choir

  • Mike Mogis
  • Clark Baechle
  • Todd Baechle
  • Julee Dunekacke
  • Rob Hawkins
  • Alisa Henzman
  • Renee Ledesma Hoover
  • Alex McManus
  • J. Mogis
  • Conor Oberst
  • Sara Wilson
  • Lexie Dougan
  • Katie Torresan
  • AJ Mogis– engineer
  • Mike Mogis– engineer
  • Doug Van Sloun – mastering

Track listing:

  1. The Ugly Organist
  2. Some Red-Handed Sleight of Hand
  3. Art is Hard
  4. The Recluse
  5. Herald! Frankenstein
  6. Butcher the Song
  7. Driftwood: A Fairy Tale
  8. A Gentlemen Caller
  9. Harold Weathervein
  10. Bloody Murderer
  11. Sierra
  12. Staying Alive

On August 13, 2002.

On August 13, 2002, “Saddle Creek” label released “Lifted or The Story Is in the Soil, Keep Your Ear to the Ground”, the fourth Bright Eyes album. It was recorded December 2001 – January 2002, at “Presto!”, in Lincoln, Nebraska, and was produced by Mike Mogis.


  • Conor Oberst– voice, guitar, piano, rhodes, organ
  • Mike Mogis– banjos, bells, hammered dulcimer, vibraphone, glockenspiel, mandolin, guitar, dobro, pedal steel
  • Matt Focht, Clint Schnase, Mike Sweeney– drums
  • Todd Baechle, Jenny Lewis, Blake Sennett, Choir – vocal harmonies
  • Andy LeMaster– vocal harmonies, electric guitar, keyboards
  • Clark Baechle– drums, clarinet
  • Clay Leverett – drums, vocal harmonies
  • Jiha Lee– flute, vocal harmonies
  • Chris Brooks – piano
  • Gretta Cohn– cello
  • Sean Cole– harmonica
  • Julee Dunekacke– French horn
  • Margaret Fish – bassoon
  • Orenda Fink– trumpet, vocal harmonies
  • Jason Flatowicz– trombone
  • Tiffany Kowalski– violin
  • Matt Maginn, Casey Scott– bass
  • Katie Muth– oboe
  • Ted Stevens– electric guitar
  • Maria Taylor– piano, organ, vocal harmonies

Track listing:

  1. The Big Picture
  2. Method Acting
  3. False Advertising
  4. You Will. You? Will. You? Will. You? Will
  5. Lover I Don’t Have to Love
  6. Bowl of Oranges
  7. Don’t Know When But a Day Is Gonna Come
  8. Nothing Gets Crossed Out
  9. Make War
  10. Waste of Paint
  11. From a Balance Beam
  12. Laura Laurent
  13. Let’s Not Shit Ourselves (To Love and to Be Loved)