Cursive: The Ugly Organ

On March 4, 2003, “Saddle Creek Records” label released “The Ugly Organ”, the fourth Cursive studio album. It was recorded in 2003, and was produced by Tim Kasher and Mike Mogis.


  • Tim Kasher- lead vocals, guitars, organ
  • Ted Stevens- guitars, backing vocals
  • Matt Maginn- bass
  • Clint Schnase- drums, percussion
  • Gretta Cohn– cello
  • Chris Acker – trombone
  • Jenny Lewis- additional vocals
  • Mike Mogis- vibraphone, keyboards, bells, rhythm guitar

The “Staying Alive” Choir

  • Mike Mogis
  • Clark Baechle
  • Todd Baechle
  • Julee Dunekacke
  • Rob Hawkins
  • Alisa Henzman
  • Renee Ledesma Hoover
  • Alex McManus
  • J. Mogis
  • Conor Oberst
  • Sara Wilson
  • Lexie Dougan
  • Katie Torresan
  • AJ Mogis– engineer
  • Mike Mogis– engineer
  • Doug Van Sloun – mastering

Track listing:

  1. The Ugly Organist
  2. Some Red-Handed Sleight of Hand
  3. Art is Hard
  4. The Recluse
  5. Herald! Frankenstein
  6. Butcher the Song
  7. Driftwood: A Fairy Tale
  8. A Gentlemen Caller
  9. Harold Weathervein
  10. Bloody Murderer
  11. Sierra
  12. Staying Alive

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.