On August 13, 2002.

On August 13, 2002, “Saddle Creek” label released “Lifted or The Story Is in the Soil, Keep Your Ear to the Ground”, the fourth Bright Eyes album. It was recorded December 2001 – January 2002, at “Presto!”, in Lincoln, Nebraska, and was produced by Mike Mogis.


  • Conor Oberst– voice, guitar, piano, rhodes, organ
  • Mike Mogis– banjos, bells, hammered dulcimer, vibraphone, glockenspiel, mandolin, guitar, dobro, pedal steel
  • Matt Focht, Clint Schnase, Mike Sweeney– drums
  • Todd Baechle, Jenny Lewis, Blake Sennett, Choir – vocal harmonies
  • Andy LeMaster– vocal harmonies, electric guitar, keyboards
  • Clark Baechle– drums, clarinet
  • Clay Leverett – drums, vocal harmonies
  • Jiha Lee– flute, vocal harmonies
  • Chris Brooks – piano
  • Gretta Cohn– cello
  • Sean Cole– harmonica
  • Julee Dunekacke– French horn
  • Margaret Fish – bassoon
  • Orenda Fink– trumpet, vocal harmonies
  • Jason Flatowicz– trombone
  • Tiffany Kowalski– violin
  • Matt Maginn, Casey Scott– bass
  • Katie Muth– oboe
  • Ted Stevens– electric guitar
  • Maria Taylor– piano, organ, vocal harmonies

Track listing:

  1. The Big Picture
  2. Method Acting
  3. False Advertising
  4. You Will. You? Will. You? Will. You? Will
  5. Lover I Don’t Have to Love
  6. Bowl of Oranges
  7. Don’t Know When But a Day Is Gonna Come
  8. Nothing Gets Crossed Out
  9. Make War
  10. Waste of Paint
  11. From a Balance Beam
  12. Laura Laurent
  13. Let’s Not Shit Ourselves (To Love and to Be Loved)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.