Tag Archives: Checkendon

On June 21, 1993.

On June 21, 1993, “Columbia” label released “Gold Against the Soul”, the second Manic Street Preachers studio album. It was recorded January – March 1993, at “Outside Studios” in Checkendon, England, and was produced by Dave Eringa.


  • James Dean Bradfield– lead and backing vocals, lead, rhythm and acoustic guitars
  • Sean Moore– drums, sampled percussion, drum programming, additional programming, backing vocals
  • Richey Edwards(credited as Richey James) – rhythm guitar, backing vocals
  • Nicky Wire– bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Ian Kewley – piano, Hammond organ
  • Shovel– percussion
  • Nick Ingham – string arrangement
  • Dave Eringa– piano, hammond, engineering, mixing
  • Lee Phillips, Andy Baker – engineering assistance
  • Dave Bascombe – mixing
  • Giles Cowley, Andy Bradfield – mixing assistance
  • Mitch Ikeda – photography

Track listing:

All lyrics by Richey Edwards and Nicky Wire, all music by James Dean Bradfield and Sean Moore.

  1. Sleepflower
  2. From Despair to Where
  3. La Tristesse Durera (Scream to a Sigh)
  4. Yourself
  5. Life Becoming a Landslide
  6. Drug Drug Druggy
  7. Roses in the Hospital
  8. Nostalgic Pushead
  9. Symphony of Tourette
  10. Gold Against the Soul

On May 2, 1989.

Cure - Disintegration

On May 2, 1989, “Fiction” label released “Disintegration”, the eighth Cure studio album. It was recorded November 1988 – February 1989 at “Hookend Recording Studios” in Checkendon, Oxfordshire, and was produced by David M. Allen and Robert Smith. “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 326 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Robert Smith– vocals, guitars, keyboards, 6-string bass, engineering
  • Simon Gallup– bass guitar, keyboards
  • Porl Thompson– guitars
  • Boris Williams– drums, percussion
  • Roger O’Donnell– keyboards, piano
  • Lol Tolhurst– credited with “other instrument”; basis for the song “Homesick”
  • David M. Allen– engineering
  • Richard Sullivan – engineering
  • Roy Spong – engineering

Track listing:

All lyrics by Robert Smith, all music by Robert Smith, Simon Gallup, Roger O’Donnell, Porl Thompson, Boris Williams, and Lol Tolhurst.

  1. Plainsong
  2. Pictures of You
  3. Closedown
  4. Lovesong
  5. Last Dance
  6. Lullaby
  7. Fascination Street
  8. Prayers for Rain
  9. The Same Deep Water as You
  10. Disintegration
  11. Homesick
  12. Untitled