Tag Archives: album cover

On March 23, 1956.

On March 23, 1956, “RCA Victor” label released the self-titled, debut Elvis Presley album. It was recorded July 1954 – January 1956, at “”RCA Victor Studios” in Nashville, Tennessee, “RCA Victor Studios” in New York City, “Sun Studio” in Memphis, Tennessee, and was produced by Sam Phillips (Sun recordings) and Steve Sholes (RCA recordings). “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album cover at number 40, on its list of the “100 Greatest Album Covers”. The album was certified Platinum in US by the “RIAA”.


  • Elvis Presley– vocals, acoustic guitar, piano
  • Scotty Moore– electric guitar
  • Chet Atkins– acoustic guitar
  • Floyd Cramer– piano
  • Shorty Long– piano
  • Bill Black– bass
  • Doug Poindexter– percussion, guitar
  • J. Fontana– drums
  • Johnny Bernero – drums
  • Gordon Stoker– backing vocals
  • Ben Speer– backing vocals
  • Brock Speer– backing vocals

 Track listing:

  1. Blue Suede Shoes – Carl Perkins
  2. I’m Counting On You – Don Robertson
  3. I Got a Woman – Ray Charles, Renald Richard
  4. One Sided Love Affair – Bill Campbell
  5. I Love You Because – Leon Payne
  6. Just Because – Bob Shelton, Joe Shelton, Sydney Robin
  7. Tutti Frutti – Dorothy LaBostrie, Richard Wayne Penniman
  8. Tryin’ to Get You – Rose Marie McCoy, Charles Singleton
  9. I’m Gonna Sit Right Down and Cry (Over You) – Howard Biggs, Joe Thomas
  10. I’ll Never Let You Go (Little Darlin’) – Jimmy Wakely
  11. Blue Moon – Richard Rodgers, Lorenz Hart
  12. Money Honey – Jesse Stone



In February 1969.

In February 1969, “Kapp” label released “Contact”, the second Silver Apples studio album. It was recorded in 1968, and was produced by Simeon Coxe III, Danny Taylor and Barry Bryan. “Pan Am Airlines” generated a lawsuit against the band, concerning the album cover an inner artwork (cover showing Silver Apples in a plane cockpit with drug paraphernalia, and the inner artwork showing the band among plane wreckage playing banjos). The resulting lawsuit led to the breakup of the band. Magazine “The Wire” placed “Contact” in its list of the “One Hundred Records That Set the World on Fire (While No One Was Listening


  • Danny Taylor – vocals, drums, percussion
  • Simeon Coxe III – vocals, oscillators, banjo
  • Jack Hunt – engineering
  • Charlie Silver – sleeve photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Simeon Coxe III and Danny Taylor, except where noted.

  1. You and I
  2. Water
  3. Ruby – Joy May Creasy, Simeon Coxe III, Danny Taylor
  4. Gypsy Love – Simeon Coxe III, Stanley Warren, Danny Taylor
  5. You’re Not Foolin’ Me
  6. I Have Known Love – Eileen Lewellen, Simeon Coxe III, Danny Taylor
  7. A Pox On You
  8. Confusion
  9. Fantasies

In April 1975.

In April 1975, “Elektra” label released “Playing Possum”, the fifth Carly Simon studio album. It was recorded in 1975 at “Sound Labs”, “Sunset Sound Recorders”, “Crystal Sound”, “ A&M Studios” and “Burbank Studios” in California, and was produced by Richard Perry.In 1991, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album cover at number 20 on its  list of the “100 Greatest Album Covers.


  • Carly Simon — acoustic guitar, guitar, piano, arrangements, vocals, background vocals
  • Jeff Baxter— guitar
  • Eddie Bongo — conga
  • Rita Coolidge— vocals, background vocals
  • Irving Cottler— drums
  • John— guitar, piano, keyboards
  • Alan Estes — percussion
  • Andrew Gold— guitar, drums, tambourine
  • Jim Gordon— drums
  • Abigale Haness — vocals, background vocals
  • James Newton Howard— arp Synthesizer, keyboards, electric piano
  • Carole King— vocals, background vocals
  • Clydie King— vocals, background vocals
  • Sneaky Pete Kleinow— pedal steel guitar
  • Russ Kunkel— drums
  • Trevor Lawrence — saxophone, alto saxophone
  • Billy Mernit — piano
  • Joe Mondragon — bass
  • Ken Moore — vocals, background vocals
  • Tommy Morgan — harmonica
  • Andy Newmark— percussion, drums
  • Richard Perry— tambourine
  • Vini Poncia— vocals, background vocals
  • Emil Richards— percussion
  • Rodney Richmond — vocals, background vocals
  • Lee Ritenour— guitar, mandolin, electric guitar
  • Alvin Robinson— guitar
  • Leland Sklar— bass, drums
  • Fred Staehle — percussion
  • Ringo Starr— drums
  • Liza Strike — vocals
  • James Taylor— acoustic guitar, guitar, vocals, background vocals
  • Julia Tillman Waters — vocals, background vocals
  • Derrek Van Eaton — fiddle, flute
  • Lon Van Eaton — clarinet, flute, sitar
  • Klaus Voormann— bass
  • Willie Weeks— bass
  • Maxine Willard — background vocals
  • Carolyn Willis — vocals, background vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Carly Simon; except where noted.

  1. After the Storm
  2. Love Out in the Street
  3. Look Me in the Eyes
  4. More and More – Mac Rebennack, Alvin Robinson
  5. Slave – Carly Simon, Jacob Brackman
  6. Attitude Dancing – Carly Simon, Jacob Brackman
  7. Sons of Summer – Bill Mernit
  8. Waterfall
  9. Are You Ticklish
  10. Playing Possum