In March 1990.

In March 1990, “Permanent Records” label released “The Apprentice”, the fifteen John Martyn studio album. It was recorded in 1990, at “CaVa Studios” in Glasgow, and was produced by Brian Young and John Martyn.


  • John Martyn – guitars, vocals
  • Foster Patterson – keyboards
  • Aran Ahmun – drums
  • Colin Tully – saxophone
  • Andy Shepherd – saxophone
  • Danny Cummings- percussion, backing vocals
  • Danusia – backing vocals
  • Taj Wyzgowski – rhythm guitar

Track listing:

All tracks composed by John Martyn except where noted.

  1. Live On Love
  2. The River
  3. Look At The Girl
  4. Income Town
  5. Send Me One Line
  6. Deny this Love
  7. Hold Me
  8. Upo
  9. The Apprentice
  10. The Moment
  11. Patterns In The Rain – Foster Patterson

In March 1988.

In March 1988, “Fontana” label released “The Tenement Year”, the sixth Pere Ubu studio album. It was recorded in 1988, and was produced by Paul Hammann.


  • David Thomas– vocals, trombone, spike
  • Jim Jones– guitar, backing vocals
  • Allen Ravenstine– EML synthesizer, sax, backing vocals
  • Tony Maimone– bass, backing vocals
  • Chris Cutler– drums, percussion
  • Scott Krauss– drums
  • John Kirkpatrick– Melodeon

Track listing:

  1. Something’s Gotta Give
  2. George Had a Hat
  3. Talk to Me
  4. Busman’s Honeymoon
  5. Say Goodbye
  6. Universal Vibration
  7. Miss You
  8. Dream the Moon
  9. Rhythm King
  10. The Hollow Earth
  11. We Have the Technology

In March 1982.

In March 1982, “Mercury” label released “Grasshopper”, the seventh J. J. Cale album. It was recorded in 1982, and was produced by Audie Ashworth and J. J. Cale.


  • J. Cale – guitar and vocals
  • Reggie Young – guitar
  • Christine Lakeland – guitar, organ, vocals
  • David Briggs – piano, electric piano
  • Mike Lawler – synthesizer
  • Jim Karstein – congas
  • Bill Boatman- tambourine
  • Robert Greenidge – steel drums
  • Gary Allen – drums
  • Dennis Solee – horns
  • Charles Dungey – bass
  • Farrell Morris – congas, percussion, vibraphone
  • Karl Himmel – drums
  • Nick Rather – bass
  • Tom Cogbill – bass
  • Ken Buttrey– drums
  • Steve Gibson – guitar
  • John Christopher – guitar
  • Bobby Emmons– organ
  • Audie Ashworth – producer, engineer
  • Chad Hailey – engineer, mixer
  • Chip Young – engineer
  • Rick Horton – engineer
  • Ron Reynolds – engineer, mixer

Track listing:

All tracks written by J. J. Cale, except where noted

  1. City Girls
  2. Devil in Disguise
  3. One Step Ahead of the Blues – J. Cale, Roger Tillison
  4. You Keep Me Hangin’ On
  5. Downtown L.A.
  6. Can’t Live Here
  7. Grasshopper
  8. Drifters Wife
  9. Don’t Wait – J. Cale, Christine Lakeland
  10. A Thing Going On
  11. Nobody But You
  12. Mississippi River
  13. Does Your Mama Like to Reggae – J. Cale, Christine Lakeland
  14. Jive

In March 1970.

In March 1970, “BYG Actuel” label released “Magick Brother”, the debut Gong studio album. It was recorded September-October 1969, at “Studio Eta” and “Studio Europa Sonor” in Paris, and was produced by Jean Georgakarakos and Jean-Luc Young.


  • Gilli Smyth– space whisper
  • Daevid Allen– guitar, bass guitar, vocals
  • Didier Malherbe– flute, soprano saxophone
  • Rachid Houari – drums, percussion
  • Barre Phillips– contrabass
  • Earl Freeman – contrabass, piano
  • Burton Greene– piano
  • Dieter Gewissler – bowed contrabass
  • Tasmin Smyth – voices

Track listing:

All tracks by Daevid Allen.

Early Morning side

  1. Mystic Sister
  2. Magick Brother
  3. Rational Anthem (Change the World)
  4. Glad To Sad To Say
  5. Chainstore Chant
  6. Pretty Miss Titty
  7. Fredfish / Hope You Feel OK

Late Night side

  1. Ego
  2. Gong Song
  3. Princess Dreaming
  4. 5 & 20 Schoolgirls
  5. Cos You Got Green Hair


On March 18, 2017.

On March 18, 2017, Don Hunstein died aged 88. He was photographer, best known for his work at “Columbia Records” and for his photographs that were featured on covers of some famous albums including Thelonious Monk’s Monk’s Dream; Blood, Sweat & Tears’s Mirror Image; Miles Davis’s Nefertiti, and the famous photograph of Bob Dylan walking with Suze Rotolo, used for the cover of “Freewheelin’ Bob Dylan” album.

On March 26, 2013.

On March 26, 2013, “Rough Trade” label released “Comedown Machine”, the fifth Strokes studio album. It was recorded July – November 2012 at “Electric Lady Studios” in New York City, and “One Way Studios” in Upstate New York, and was produced by Gus Oberg.


  • Julian Casablancas– vocals
  • Albert Hammond, Jr.– guitar, keyboards
  • Nick Valensi– guitar, keyboards, mellotron
  • Nikolai Fraiture– bass guitar, double bass
  • Fabrizio Moretti– drums, percussion
  • Gus Oberg – audio mixer, engineer
  • Phil Joy – engineer
  • Dave Lutch – mastering
  • Brett Kilroe – art direction, design
  • Fab Moretti – art direction
  • Tina Ibañez – design
  • Colin Lane – original band photography
  • Jason McDonald – still life photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Julian Casablancas, Albert Hammond, Jr., Nick Valensi, Nikolai Fraiture and Fabrizio Moretti, except where noted.

  1. Tap Out
  2. All the Time – Julian Casablancas, Nikolai Fraiture
  3. One Way Trigger – Julian Casablancas, Albert Hammond, Jr.
  4. Welcome to Japan – Julian Casablancas, Albert Hammond, Jr., Nick valensi
  5. 80’s Comedown Machine – Julian Casablancas, Albert Hammond, Jr., Nick Valensi, Nikolai Fraiture, Fabrizio Moretti
  6. 50/50
  7. Slow Animals – Julian Casablancas, Nick Valensi
  8. Partners in Crime – Julian Casablancas, Albert Hammond, Jr.
  9. Chances – Julian Casablancas, Albert Hammond, Jr., Fabrizio Moretti
  10. Happy Ending
  11. Call It Fate, Call It Karma – Julian Casablancas, Albert Hammond, Jr., Nick Valensi

In March 1987.

In March 1987, “Polydor” label released “Running in the Family”, the seventh Level 42 studio album. It was recorded in 1986, at “Sarm West” and “Maison Rouge”, and was produced by Wally Badarou, Mark King, Phil Gould, Boon Gould, Wally Badarou, Mike Lindup, Gary Barnacle and Krys Mach. The album was certified 2 x Platinum in the UK by “BPI”.

  • Mark King– bass, lead vocals
  • Phil Gould– drums
  • Boon Gould– lead and rhythm guitars
  • Wally Badarou– keyboards, backing vocals
  • Mike Lindup– keyboards, backing vocals
  • Gary Barnacle– saxophone
  • Krys Mach – saxophone

Track listing:

  1. Lessons in Love – Wally Badarou,  Gould, Mark King
  2. Children Say – Mark King, Mike Lindup, Phi Gould
  3. Running in the Family – Phil Gould, Wally Badarou, Mark King
  4. It’s Over – Mark King, R. Gould, Wally Badarou
  5. To Be with You Again – Mark King, R. Gould
  6. Two Solitudes – Mark King, Phil Gould, Mike Lindup
  7. Fashion Fever – Mark King, Phil Gould, R. Gould, Mike Lindup
  8. The Sleepwalkers – Mark King, Phil Gould
  9. Freedom Someday – Mark King, Phil Gould, R. Gould, Mike Lindup


This site is the cat’s pajamas