On June 12, 1992.

On June 12, 1992, “Warner Bros” label released “Goin’ Back to New Orleans”, the 17th Dr. John album. It was recorded in 1992, at “Ultrasonic Studios” in New Orleans, and was produced by Stewart Levine.


  • Dr. John (Mac Rebennack) – lead vocal, piano, electric piano, organ, guitar
  • Tommy Moran – guitar
  • Chief “Smiley” Ricks, Alfred “Uganda” Roberts, Charles Neville, Cyril Neville – percussion
  • Al Schmitt – engineer
  • Chris Rich, David Farrell, Steve Reynolds – engineer assistant
  • Tom Recchion – art direction, design
  • Lyn Bradley – design
  • Jason Jones – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Mac Rebennack, except where noted.

  1. Litanie des Saints
  2. Careless Love – Martha Koenig, Spencer Williams, W. C. Handy
  3. My Indian Red
  4. Mineburg Joys – Charles Melrose, Jellyroll Morton, Leon Roppola, Paul Mayers
  5. I Thought I Heard Buddy Bolden Say – Ferdinand Morton
  6. Basin Street Blues – Spencer Williams
  7. Didn’t He Ramble – Hattie Bolten
  8. Do You Call That a Buddy? – Don Raye, Wesley Wilson
  9. How Come My Dog Don’t Bark (When You Come Around) – Prince Partridge
  10. Goodnight Irene – Huddie Ledbetter, John Lomax
  11. Fess Up
  12. Since I Fell for You – Buddy Johnson
  13. I’ll Be Glad When You’re Dead, You Rascal You – Sam Theard
  14. Cabbage Head – Henry Roeland Byrd, Mac Rebennack
  15. Goin’ Home Tomorrow – Alvin Young, Fats Domino
  16. Blue Monday – Dave Bartholomew
  17. Scald Dog Medley / I Can’t Go On – Huey “Piano” Smith, Dave Bartholomew, Fats Domino
  18. Goin’ Back to New Orleans – Joe Liggins

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.