In June 1962.

In June 1962, “Contemporary” label released “A World of Piano!”, the eleventh Phineas Newborn Jr. album. It was recorded October – November 1961, at “Contemporary Records Studio” in Hollywood, and was produced by Lester Koenig.


  • Phineas Newborn Jr. – piano
  • Paul Chambers, Sam Jones – bass
  • Philly Joe Jones, Louis Hayes – drums

Track listing:

  1. Cheryl – Charlie Parker
  2. Manteca – Dizzy Gillespie, Gil Fuller, Chano Pozo
  3. Lush Life – Billy Strayhorn
  4. Daahoud – Clifford Brown
  5. Oleo – Sonny Rollins
  6. Juicy Lucy – Horace Silver
  7. For Carl – Leroy Vinnegar
  8. Cabu – Roland Alexander

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.