In March 1961.

In March 1961, “Prestige” label released “Lush Life”, album by John Coltrane. It was assembled from previously unreleased tracks from three recording sessions at “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, New Jersey in May and August 1957, and January 1958, produced by Bob Weinstock.


  • John Coltrane – tenor saxophone
  • Donald Byrd – trumpet
  • Red Garland – piano
  • Paul Chambers – bass
  • Earl May – bass
  • Art Taylor – drums
  • Louis Hayes – drums
  • Albert Heath – drums

Track listing:

  1. Like Someone in Love – Jimmy Van Heusen
  2. I Love You – Cole Porter
  3. Trane’s Slow Blues – John Coltrane
  4. Lush Life – Billy Strayhorn
  5. I Hear a Rhapsody – Jack Baker, George Fragos, Dick Gasparre

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.