Joe Henderson: Black Narcissus

In January 1976, “Milestone” label released “Black Narcissus”, the 20th Joe Henderson album. It was recorded in October 1974, at “Studios Europa Sonor” in Paris, April 1975, at “Fantasy Studios” in Berkeley, California, and was produced by Orrin Keepnews and Joe Henderson.


  • Joe Henderson – tenor sax
  • Joachim Kühn – piano
  • Patrick Gleeson – synthesizer, arranger
  • David Friesen – bass 
  • Jean-François Jenny-Clark – bass
  • Daniel Humair – drums, cover painting
  • Jack DeJohnette – drums
  • Bill Summers – congas, percussion
  • Bruce Walford – engineer
  • Claude Martenot – engineer
  • Neil Schwartz – engineer
  • Seth Dworkin – engineer
  • Skip Shimmin – engineer
  • David Turner – mastering
  • Lance Anderson – design

Track listing:

All tracks by Joe Henderson, except where noted.

  1. Black Narcissus
  2. Hindsight and Forethought
  3. Power to the People
  4. Amoeba
  5. Good Morning Heartache – Irene Higginbotham, Ervin Drake, Dan Fisher
  6. The Other Side of Right

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.