John Coltrane: First Meditations

In December 1977, “Impulse!” label released “First Meditations”, posthumously released John Coltrane album. It was recorded in September 1965, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, NJ, and was produced by Bob Thiele.


  • John Coltrane – tenor saxophone
  • McCoy Tyner – piano
  • Jimmy Garrison – double bass
  • Elvin Jones – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by John Coltrane.

  1. Love
  2. Compassion
  3. Joy
  4. Consequences
  5. Serenity

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.