Ry Cooder: Get Rhythm

In November 1987, “Warner Bros” label released “Get Rhythm”, the eleventh Ry Cooder album. It was recorded in 1987, at “Ocean Way Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Ry Cooder.


  • Ry Cooder – vocals, guitar, arrangements
  • Van Dyke Parks – keyboards
  • Flaco Jiménez – accordion
  • Steve Douglas – saxophone
  • Jorge Calderón – bass guitar
  • Buell Neidlinger – acoustic bass
  • Jim Keltner – drums
  • Miguel Cruz – percussion
  • Bobby King, Terry Evans, Arnold McCuller, Willie Greene, Jr. – backing vocals
  • Larry Blackmon – backing vocals
  • Harry Dean Stanton – backing vocals
  • Ed Cherney – recording
  • Steven M. Martin – art direction
  • Kalan Brunink – black velvet painting

Track listing:

  1. Get Rhythm – Johnny Cash
  2. Low Commotion – Ry Cooder, Jim Keltner
  3. Going Back to Okinawa – Ry Cooder
  4. Thirteen Question Method – Chuck Berry
  5. Women Will Rule the World – Raymond Quevedo
  6. All Shook Up – Elvis Presley, Otis Blackwell
  7. I Can Tell by the Way You Smell – Walter Davis
  8. Across the Borderline – Ry Cooder, Jim Dickinson, John Hiatt
  9. Let’s Have a Ball – Allen Bunn

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.