Faith No More: The Real Thing

On June 20, 1989, “Slash” and “Reprise” labels released “The Real Thing”, the third Faith No More studio album. It was recorded December 1988 – January 1989, at “Studio D” in Sausalito, California, and was produced by Matt Wallace, Mike Bordin, Roddy Bottum, Bill Gould, James Martin and Mike Patton.


  • Mike Patton – vocals
  • James Martin – guitars
  • Roddy Bottum – keyboards
  • Bill Gould – bass
  • Mike Bordin – drums
  • Matt Wallace – engineer
  • Jim “Watts” Vereecke – engineer assistant
  • Craig Doubet – engineer assistant
  • John Golden – mastering
  • Jeff Price – artwork
  • Terry Robertson – CD design
  • Lendon Flanagon – photography

Track listing:

All lyrics by Mike Patton, all music by Bill Gould and Roddy Bottum, except where noted.

  1. From Out of Nowhere
  2. Epic – Bill Gould, Roddy Bottun, James Martin, Mike Bordin
  3. Falling to Pieces – Bill Gould, Roddy Bottum, James Martin
  4. Surprise! You’re Dead! – lyrics by Mike Patton, James Martin, music by James Martin
  5. Zoombie Easters – music by Mike Patton, Bill Gould, James Martin, Mike Bordin
  6. The Real Thing –  lyrics by Mike Patton, Bill Gould, music by Bill Gould, Roddy Bottum
  7. Underwater Love
  8. The Morning After – music by Bill Gould, James Martin, Roddy Bottum
  9.  Woodpecker from Mars – music by James Martin, Roddy Bordin

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.