The Style Council: Confessions of a Pop Group

On June 20, 1988, “Polydor” label released “Confessions of a Pop Group”, the fourth Style Council (The) album. It was recorded in 1988, and was produced by Paul Weller and Mick Talbot.


  1. Paul Weller – vocals, guitars, synthesizers, drum programming
  2. Mick Talbot – piano forte, Hammond organ, clavinet, synthesizers
  3. Dee C. Lee – vocals
  4. Camelle Hinds – bass 
  5. Paul Morgan – contra bass
  6. Steve White – drums
  7. Nick Brown – drums
  8. Little Joo Ruocco – percussion
  9. Dick Morrissey – flute
  10. Chris Lawrence – trombone
  11. Frank Ricotti – vibraphone
  12. Rupert Parker – harp
  13. The Swingle Singers – backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by Paul Weller, except where noted.

  1. It’s a Very Deep Sea
  2. The Story of Someone’s Shoe
  3. Changing of the Guard
  4. The Little Boy in a Castle (A) / A Dove Flew Down From the Elephant (B) – Mick Talbot
  5. The Gardener of Eden (A Three Piece Suite) / I In the Beginning / II  The Gardener of Eden / III Mourning the Passing of Time
  6. Life at a Top People’s Health Farm
  7. Why I Went Missing
  8. How She Threw It All Away
  9. Iwasadoledadstoyboy
  10. Confessions 1, 2, & 3
  11. Confessions of a Pop-Group

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.