Tag Archives: Jim Watts Vereecke

On June 20, 1989.

On June 20, 1989, “Slash” and “Reprise” labels released “The Real Thing”, the third Faith No More studio album. It was recorded December 1988 – January 1989, at “Studio D” in Sausalito, California, and was produced by Matt Wallace, Mike Bordin, Roddy Bottum, Bill Gould, James Martin and Mike Patton.


  • Mike Patton – vocals
  • James Martin – guitars
  • Roddy Bottum – keyboards
  • Mike Bordin – drums
  • Bill Gould – bass
  • Matt Wallace – engineer
  • Jim “Watts” Vereecke – assistant engineer
  • Craig Doubet – assistant engineer
  • John Golden – mastering
  • Jeff Price – artwork
  • Terry Robertson – CD design
  • Lendon Flanagon – photography

Track listing:

All lyrics by Mike Patton, all music by Bill Gould and Roddy Bottum, except where noted.

  1. From Out of Nowhere
  2. Epic – Bill Gould, Roddy Bottun, James Martin, Mike Bordin
  3. Falling to Pieces – Bill Gould, Roddy Bottum, James Martin
  4. Surprise! You’re Dead! – lyrics by Mike Patton, James Martin, music by James Martin
  5. Zoombie Easters – music by Mike Patton, Bill Gould, James Martin, Mike Bordin
  6. The Real Thing –  lyrics by Mike Patton, Bill Gould, music by Bill Gould, Roddy Bottum
  7. Underwater Love
  8. The Morning After – music by Bill Gould, James Martin, Roddy Bottum
  9.  Woodpecker from Mars – music by James Martin, Roddy Bordin