Herbie Hancock: Sunlight

On June 15, 1978, “Columbia” label released “Sunlight”, the 19th Herbie Hancock album. It was recorded in 1977, and was produced by David Rubinson and Herbie Hancock.


  • Herbie Hancock – lead and background vocals (vocoder), keyboards, synthesizers, string, brass and woodwind arrangements
  • Patrick Gleeson – additional synthesizers
  • Bennie Maupin – soprano saxophone solo
  • Wah Wah Watson, Ray Parker, Jr. – guitar
  • Byron Miller, Paul Jackson, Jaco Pastorius – electric bass
  • Leon “Ndugu” Chancler, James Levi, Harvey Mason, Sr., Tony Williams – drums
  • Raul Rekow, Bill Summers – percussion
  • Baba Duru – table
  • Bobby Shew, Maurice Spears, Robert O’Bryant, Garnett Brown – brass
  • Ernest J. Watts, Fred Jackson, Jr., Jack Nimitz, David Willard Riddles – woodwind
  • Terry Adams, Roy Malan, Nathan Rubin, Linda Wood, Emily VanValkenburgh – strings
  • David Rubinson, Fred Catero, Chris Minto, Cheryl Ward – engineer
  • Steve Mantoani – engineer
  • Terry Becker – engineer assistant
  • Phill Brown – mastering

Track listing:

All tracks by Herbie Hancock, except where noted.

  1. I Thought It Was You – Herbie Hancock, Melvin Ragin, Jeffrey Cohen
  2. Come Running to Me – lyrics by Allee Willis
  3. Sunlight
  4. No Means Yes
  5. Good Question

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.