In December 1992.

In December 1992, “Evidence” label released “African Venus” the twelve Dewey Redman album. It was recorded in December 1992, at “Sound on Sound Studio” in New York City     and was produced by Inc. Big Apple Productions.


  • Dewey Redman – alto and tenor saxophone, musette
  • Joshua Redman – tenor saxophone
  • Charles Eubanks – piano
  • Anthony Cox – bass
  • Carl Allen – drums
  • Danny Sadownick – percussion

Track listing:

All tracks by Dewey Redman except where noted.

  1. African Venus
  2. Venus and Mars
  3. Mr. Sandman – Pat Ballard
  4. Echo Prayer
  5. Satin Doll – Duke Ellington, Johnny Mercer, Billy Strayhorn
  6. Take the “A” Train – Billy Strayhorn
  7. Turnaround – Ornette Coleman

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.