On December 27, 1992.

On December 27, 1992, “Criss Cross” label released “Downtown Sounds”, the debut Grant Stewart album. It was recorded in 1992, at “RPM Sound” in New York City, and was produced by Gerry Teekens.


  • Grant Stewart – tenor sax
  • Joe Magnarelli – trumpet
  • Brad Mehldau – piano
  • Peter Washington – bass
  • Kenny Washington – drums
  • Max Bolleman – engineer
  • Gerry Teekens – design
  • Ron Schwerin – photography

Track listing:

  1. Audobahn – Sonny Rollins
  2. Smada – Billy Strayhorn
  3. Daydream – Billy Strayhorn, Duke Ellington, John La Touche
  4. From This Moment On – Cole Porter
  5. A Bee Has Two Brains – Johnny Ellis
  6. Sweet and Lovely – Gus Arnheim, Harry Tobias, Jules Lemare
  7. Intimacy of the Blues – Billy Strayhorn
  8. Ko-Ko – Charlie Parker

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.