In December 1960.

In December 1960, “Verve” label released “Gillespiana”, the 32nd Dizzy Gillespie album. It was recorded in November 1960, in New York City, and was produced by Norman Granz.


  • Dizzy Gillespie, John Frosk, Ernie Royal, Clark Terry, Joe Wilder – trumpet
  • Urbie Green, Frank Rehak, Britt Woodman – trombone
  • Paul Faulise – bass trombone
  • Jim Buffington, William Lister, Al Richman, Gunther Schuller, Morris Secon, Julius Watkins – French horn
  • Don Butterfield – tuba
  • Leo Wright – alto saxophone, flute
  • Lalo Schifrin – piano, arranger
  • Willie Rodriguez – timpani
  • Art Davis – bass
  • Chuck Lampkin – drums
  • Candido Camero – conga
  • Jack Del Rio – bongos

Track listing:

All tracks by Lalo Schifrin

  1. Prelude
  2. Blues
  3. Panamericana
  4. Africana
  5. Toccata

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.