On October 19, 1999.

On October 19, 1999, “ECM” label released “A Long Time Ago”, the 16th Kenny Wheeler album. It was recorded September 1997 – January 1998, at “Gateway Studio” in Kingston, and was produced by Manfred Eicher.


  • Kenny Wheeler – flugelhorn
  • John Taylor – piano
  • John Parricelli – guitar
  • Derek Watkins, John Barclay, Henry Lowther, Ian Hamer – trumpet
  • Pete Beachill, Mark Nightingale, Richard Edwards- trombone
  • Sarah Williams, Dave Stewart – bass trombone
  • Tony Faulkner – conductor

Track listing:

All tracks by Kenny Wheeler.

  1. The Long Time Ago Suite
  2. One Plus Three (Version 1)
  3. Ballad for a Dead Child
  4. Eight Plus Three / Alice My Dear
  5. Going for Baroque
  6. Gnu Suite
  7. One Plus Three (Version 2)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.