On August 24, 1974.

On August 24, 1974, “Elektra” label released “Verities & Balderdash”, the fourth Harry Chapin studio album. It was recorded in 1973, at “Connecticut Recording Studios” in Bridgeport, Connecticut, and was produced by Paul Leka. The album was certified 2 x Platinum in Canada by “Music Canada”, and 2 x Platinum in the US by “RIAA”.


  • Harry Chapin – vocals, guitar
  • John Tropea- acoustic guitar, sitar
  • Don Payne – bass
  • Allan Schwartzberg- drums
  • Don Grolnick- piano, electric piano, harpsichord
  • Ron Bacchiocchi – synthesizer
  • Irving Spice – concertmaster
  • George Simms – background vocals
  • Frank Simms- background vocals
  • Dave Kondziela – background vocals
  • Zizi Roberts – female vocals
  • Ron Bacchiocchi – recording engineer
  • Paul Leka – mixing
  • Fred Kewley – mixing
  • Glen Christensen – art direction
  • Shiah Grumet – design
  • Bill Hofman – illustration
  • Ruth Bernal – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Harry Chapin, except where noted.

  1. Cat’s in the Cradle- Sandy Chapin, Harry Chapin
  2. I Wanna Learn a Love Song
  3. Shooting Star
  4. 000 Pounds of Bananas
  5. She Sings Songs Without Words
  6. What Made America Famous?
  7. Vacancy
  8. Halfway To Heaven
  9. Six String Orchestra

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.