On August 12, 2013.

On August 12, 2013, “Whirlwind Recordings” label released “Mike Gibbs + Twelve play Gil Evans”, the twelve Mike Gibbs album. It was recorded in 2013 and was produced by Mike Gibbs, Hans Koller, Michael Janisch, and Alex Bonney.


  • Mike Gibbs – arranger, conductor
  • Finn Peters – alto saxophone, flutes
  • Julian Siegel – soprano and tenor saxophone, bass clarinet
  • Lluis Mather – tenor saxophone, clarinets
  • Percy Pursglove, Robbie Robson, Joe Aukland – trumpet
  • Jim Rattigan – French horn
  • Mark Nightingale – trombone
  • Sarah Williams – bass trombone, tuba
  • Hans Koller – piano
  • Michael Janisch- double bass
  • Jeff Williams– drums
  • Alex Bonney – engineer, editing
  • Tyler McDiarmid – mixing, mastering
  • Michael Janisch – executive producer

Track listing:

  1. Bilbao Song – Kurt Weill(arranged by Gil Evans)
  2. Las Vegas Tango – Gil Evans
  3. Ida Lupino – Carla Bley
  4. Feelings & Things – Michael Gibbs
  5. Sister Sadie – Horace Silver(arranged by Gil Evans)
  6. Spring is Here – Richard Rodgers, Lorenz Hart(arranged by Gil Evans)
  7. Ramblin’ – Ornette Coleman
  8. Louis Blues – W.C. Handy (arranged by Gil Evans)
  9. Tennis, Anyone? – Michael Gibbs
  10. Wait till You See Her – Richard Rodgers, Lorenz Hart (arranged by Gil Evans)


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.