In August 1962.

In August 1962, “Pacific Jazz” label released “Essence” the fourth Don Ellis album. It was recorded in July 1962, in Los Angeles, and was produced by Richard Bock.


  • Don Ellis- trumpet
  • Paul Bley- piano
  • Gary Peacock- bass
  • Nick Martinis, Gene Stone – drums

Track listing:

All tracks by Don Ellis except where noted.

  1. Johnny Come Lately – Billy Strayhorn
  2. Slow Space
  3. Ostinato
  4. Donkey – Carla Bley
  5. Form
  6. Angel Eyes – Earl Brent, Matt Dennis
  7. Irony
  8. Lover – Richard Rodgers, Lorenz Hart

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.