On August 7, 2007.

On August 7, 2007, “Jagjaguwar” label released “The Stage Names”, the fourth Okkervil River studio album. It was recorded in 2007, in Austin, Texas, and was produced by Brian Beattie.


  • Will Sheff – vocals, acoustic and electric guitar, piano, xylophone
  • Scott Brackett – coronet, Hammond organ, synthesizer, mellotron, percussion
  • Brian Cassidy – vocals, electric guitar, pedal steel, xylophone
  • Jonathan Meiburg – vocals, piano, Wurlitzer, pump organ, mellotron, electric guitar
  • Patrick Pestorius – bass, piano, woodblocks
  • Travis Nelsen – drums, maracas, tambourine, shells
  • Zachary Thomas – mandolin
  • Frances Smith – French horn, clarinet
  • Scott Jackson – violin
  • Tammy Vo – violin
  • Katie Nott – viola
  • Kathleen Pittman – violin
  • Sarah Pizzicheni – violin
  • Will Thothong – viola
  • Caitlin Bailey – cello

Track listing:

All tracks by Will Sheff.

  1. Our Life Is Not a Movie or Maybe
  2. Unless It’s Kicks
  3. A Hand to Take Hold of the Scene
  4. Savannah Smiles
  5. Plus Ones
  6. A Girl in Port
  7. You Can’t Hold the Hand of a Rock and Roll Man
  8. Title Track
  9. John Allyn Smith Sails

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.