In July 1970.

In July 1970, ”Impulse!” label released “Transition”, an album by John Coltrane. It was recorded May – June 1965, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood Cliffs, NJ, and was produced by Bob Thiele and John Coltrane.


  • John Coltrane– tenor saxophone
  • McCoy Tyner– piano
  • Jimmy Garrison– double bass
  • Elvin Jones– drums
  • Rudy Van Gelder – engineer
  • Nat Hentoff – liner notes

Track listing:

All tracks by John Coltrane.

  1. Transition
  2. Dear Lord
  3. Suite
  • Prayer and Meditation: Day, Peace and After
  • Prayer and Meditation: Evening, Affirmation
  • Prayer and Meditation: 4 A.M.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.