In July 1962.

In July 1962, “Impulse!” label released “Coltrane”, the eleventh John Coltrane album (third one for Impulse!). It was recorded April – June 1962, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Englewood, NJ, and was produced by Bob Thiele.


  • John Coltrane– tenor and soprano saxophone
  • Jimmy Garrison– double bass
  • Elvin Jones– drums
  • McCoy Tyner– piano
  • Pete Turner– photography

Track listing:

  1. Out of This World – Harold Arlen, Johnny Mercer
  2. Soul Eyes – Mal Waldron
  3. The Inch Worm – Frank Loesser
  4. Tunji – John Coltrane
  5. Miles’ Mode – John Coltrane

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.