In June 1959.

In June 1959, “Blue Note” label released “Holiday for Skins”, the fourth Art Blakey studio album. It was recorded in November 1958, at “Manhattan Towers” in New York City, and was produced by Alfred Lion. The album was released in two volumes.


  • Art Blakey- drums, chanting
  • Donald Byrd- trumpet
  • Ray Bryant– piano
  • Wendell Marshall- bass
  • Art Taylor– drums
  • Philly Joe Jones- drums, chanting, vocals
  • Ray Barretto, Victor Gonzales, Julio Martinez, Sabu Martinez, Chonguito Vincente – bongos, congas
  • Fred Pagani – timbales
  • Andy Delannoy – maracas
  • Austin Cromer, Hal Rasheed – chanting

 Track listing:

All tracks by Art Blakey except where noted.

Holiday for Skins Volume 1

  1. Aghano
  2. The Feast
  3. Mirage
  4. Lamento Africano

Holiday for Skins Volume 2

  1. O’Tinde
  2. Swingin’ Kilts – Ray Bryant
  3. Dinga
  4. Reflection – Ray Bryant


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.