On April 7, 1998.

On April 7, 1998, “Private Music” label released “Sacred Island”, album by Taj Mahal and The Hula Blues Band. It was recorded in May 1997, at “Messenger Studios” in Hawaii, and was produced by Carey Williams.


  • Taj Mahal – vocals, guitar, harmonica
  • Carlos Andrade – lead and backing vocals, guitar, slack key guitar, tenor Ukelele, ukulele
  • Rudy Costa – clarinet, flute, kalimba, pan pipes, alto curved soprano saxophone, zither, background vocals
  • Wayne Jacinhto – guitar, slack key guitar, tenor ukelele, ukulele, background vocals
  • Patrick Cockett – liliu ukulele, ukulele, background vocals
  • Michael Barretto – ukulele, background vocals
  • Pancho Graham – acoustic guitar, acoustic guitar, background vocals
  • Fred Lunt – steel guitar
  • Kester Smith – drums, cowbell
  • Carey Williams – background vocals
  • John Gilleron – engineer
  • Daryn Roven – mixing
  • Dug Nichols – mixing
  • Bernd Steinwedel – mastering
  • Sonny Mediana – art direction
  • Petra Hanisch – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Taj Mahal, except where noted.

  1. The Calypsonians
  2. Coconut Man – Frederic Hibbert
  3. Sacred Island (Moku La’a)
  4. Betty and Dupree – Chuck Willis
  5. The New Hula Blues
  6. No Na Mamo – Carlos Andrade
  7. Mailbox Blues
  8. Kanikapila – Taj Mahal, Rudy Costa, Kester Smith, Pancho Graham


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.