Gil Scott-Heron: Spirits

On March 29, 1994, “TVT Records” label released “Spirits”, the 14th Gil Scott – Heron album. It was recorded in April 1993, and was produced by Gil Scott-Heron, Ali Shaheed Muhammad and Malcolm Cecil.


  • Gil Scott-Heron – vocals, piano
  • Ed Brady – guitar
  • Fima Ephron, Robbie Gordon – bass guitar
  • Malcolm Cecil- bass guitar, piano
  • Brian Jackson, Kim Jordan, Vernard Dickson – piano
  • Rodney Youngs – drums
  • Larry McDonald, Tony Duncanson – percussion
  • Leon William, Ron Holloway- saxophone
  • Ibrahim Shakur – flute

Track listing:

All tracks by Gil Scott-Heron.

  1. Message to the Messengers
  2. Spirits
  3. Give Her a Call
  4. Spirits Past
  5. The Other Side (Parts I-III)
  6. Don’t Give Up


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.