Phish: Hoist

On March 29, 1994, “Elektra” label released “Hoist”, the fifth Phish studio album. It was recorded October – November 1993, at “American Recording Co.” in Woodland Hills, California, and was produced by Paul Fox.


  • Trey Anastasio– lead vocals, guitars
  • Page McConnell– pianos, organ, backing vocals
  • Mike Gordon– electric and upright basses, mandolin
  • Jon “Greasy Fizeek” Fishman– drums, backing vocals
  • Morgan Fichter – violin
  • Alison Krauss– additional lead and backing vocals
  • Rickey Grundy Chorale – backing vocals
    • Rickey Grundy – conductor
    • Trelawney McLaurin
    • Beverly Witherspoon
    • Theodore Trent III
    • Beretta Thomas
    • Angela Brown
    • Hosea Belcher
  • Rose Stone, Jean McClain – backing vocals
  • Tower of PowerHorn Section – horns
    • Greg Adams – fluegelhorn
    • Lee Thornburg – trumpet, trombone
    • Stephen “Doc” Kupka – baritone saxophone
    • David Mann – alto saxophone
    • Emilio Castillo– tenor saxophone
  • Jonathan Frakes– trombone
  • Béla Fleck– banjo
  • The Richard Greene Fourteen – strings

Track listing:

All tracks by Trey Anastasio and Marshall, except where noted.

  1. Julius
  2. Down with Disease
  3. If I Could – Trey Anastasio
  4. Riker’s Mailbox – Trey Anastasio, Jon Fishman, Mike Gordon, Page McConnell
  5. Axilla (Part II)
  6. Lifeboy
  7. Sample in a Jar
  8. Wolfman’s Brother – Trey Anastasio, Jon Fishman, Marshall, Mike Gordon, Page McConnell
  9. Scent of a Mule – Mike Gordon
  10. Dog Faced Boy – Trey Anastasio, Jon Fishman, Marshall, Page McConnell
  11. Demand (song ends at 1:56, followed by Split Open and Melt jam from 4/21/93 and Yerushalayim Shel Zahav) – Trey Anastasio, Marshall, Naomi Shemer

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.