Brad Mehldau: The Art of Trio Volume One

On January 28, 1997, “Warner Bros” label released “The Art of the Trio Volume One”, the sixth Brad Mehldau album. It was recorded September 4 and 5, 1996 at “Mad Hatter Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Matt Pierson.


  • Brad Mehldau- piano
  • Larry Grenadier- bass
  • Jorge Rossy- drums
  • James Farber – engineer
  • Greg Calbi – mastering
  • Rey International – art direction, design
  • Andrea Marouk – photography
  • Ed Fox – band photographs
  • Dana Watson – production coordination

Track listing:

All tracks by Brad Mehldau except where noted.

  1. Blame It on My Youth – Edward Heyman, Oscar Levant
  2. I Didn’t Know What Time It Was – Lorenz Hart, Richard Rodgers
  3. Ron’s Place
  4. Blackbird – John Lennon, Paul McCartney
  5. Lament for Linus
  6. Mignon’s Song
  7. I Fall in Love Too Easily – Sammy Cahn, Jule Styne
  8. Lucid
  9. Nobody Else But Me – Oscar Hammerstein II, Jerome Kern

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.