In January 1978.

In January 1978, “Warner Bros” label released “Open Fire”, the debut Ronnie Montrose solo album. It was recorded in 1977, and was produced by Edgar Winter.


  • Ronnie Montrose– guitar, theremin, mandolin, mandocello
  • Edgar Winter- piano, harpsichord, Moog sequencer bass
  • Jim Alcivar- Moog synthesizer, martenot, sequencer programming
  • Alan Fitzgerald– bass
  • Rick Shlosser– drums
  • Bob Alcivar- orchestra arrangements, conductor

Track listing:

  1. Openers – Bob Alcivar
  2. Open Fire – Ronnie Montrose, Edgar Winter
  3. Mandolinia – Ronnie Montrose
  4. Town Without Pity – Dimitri Tiomkin, Ned Washington
  5. Leo Rising – Ronnie Montrose
  6. Heads Up – Ronnie Montrose, Edgar Winter
  7. Rocky Road – J. Thomassie, C. Brent, J. Smith
  8. My Little Mystery – Ronnie Montrose
  9. No Beginning/No End – Ronnie Montrose

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.