Lovin’ Spoonful: Hums of the Lovin’ Spoonful

In November 1966, “Kama Sutra” label released “Hums of the Lovin’  Spoonful”, the third studio and fourth overall Lovin’ Spoonful album. It was recorded in 1966, at “Bell Sound Studios” and “Columbia Studios”, and was produced by  Erik Jacobsen.


  • John Sebastian– lead and backing vocals, guitar, 12-string guitar, autoharp, piano, organ, ocarina, pedal steel guitar, Irish harp
  • Zal Yanovsky– lead and backing vocals, acoustic and electric guitars,  banjo, slide whistle
  • Steve Boone– double and electric basses, piano, organ, percussion
  • Joe Butler– lead and backing vocals, drums, percussion
  • Henry Diltz– clarinet
  • Artie Schroeck– electric piano
  • Larry Hankin – Jew’s harp
  • Roy Halee – engineer
  • Henry Diltz – photography

Track listing:

All tracks by John Sebastian except where noted.

  1. Lovin’ You
  2. Bes’ Friends
  3. Voodoo in My Basement
  4. Darlin’ Companion
  5. Henry Thomas
  6. Full Measure – Steve Boone, John Sebastian
  7. Rain on the Roof
  8. Coconut Grove – John Sebastian, Zal Yanovsky
  9. Nashville Cats
  10. 4 Eyes
  11. Summer in the City – John Sebastian, Mark Sebastian, Steve Boone

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.