In September 1966.

In September 1966, “Impulse” label released “Meditations”, the twenty-third John Coltrane album. It was recorded on November 23, 1965, at “Van Gelder Studio” in  Englewood Cliffs, and was produced by Bob Thiele.


  • John Coltrane– tenor saxophone
  • Pharoah Sanders– tenor saxophone
  • McCoy Tyner– piano
  • Jimmy Garrison– double bass
  • Elvin Jones– drums
  • Rashied Ali– drums

Track listing:

All tracks by John Coltrane.

  1. The Father and the Son and the Holy Ghost
  2. Compassion
  3. Love
  4. Consequences
  5. Serenity

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.