In August 1980.

In August 1980, “Warner Bros” label released “One-Trick Pony”, the fifth Paul Simon studio album. It was recorded 1979 – 1980, at “A&R Studios” in New York City and  “Agora Club” in Cleveland, Ohio, and was produced by Paul Simon and Phil Ramone. The album was released concurrently with the film of the same name, in which Paul Simon also starred.


  • Paul Simon – vocals, nylon string and electric guitar, percussion, horn and string arrangements
  • John Tropea– acoustic guitar
  • Joe Beck– electric guitar
  • Eric Gale– electric and nylon string guitar
  • Hiram Bullock– electric slide guitar
  • Hugh McCracken– acoustic guitar
  • Jeff Mironov – electric guitar
  • Richard Tee – co-lead and backing vocals, Fender Rhodes electric piano, tambourine
  • Don Grolnick– string synthesizer
  • Anthony Jackson, Tony Levin– bass
  • Steve Gadd– drums
  • Ralph MacDonald– percussion
  • Jon Faddis– flugelhorn
  • Irwin “Marky” Markowitz – trumpet
  • Patti Austin– vocals
  • Lani Groves – backing vocals
  • Dave Grusin– horn and string arrangements
  • Bob Friedman – horn and string arrangements
  • Jim Boyer – recording, mixing
  • Ted Jensen- mastering

Track listing:

All tracks by Paul Simon.

  1. Late in the Evening
  2. That’s Why God Made the Movies
  3. One-Trick Pony
  4. How the Heart Approaches What It Yearns
  5. Oh, Marion
  6. Ace in the Hole
  7. Nobody
  8. Jonah
  9. God Bless the Absentee
  10. Long, Long Day

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.