In August 1980.

In August 1980, “Virgin” label released “Doc at the Radar Station”, the eleventh  Captain Beefheart and the Magic Band studio album. It was recorded in June 1980, at “Sound Castle Recording Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Don Van Vliet. The album cover was painted by Don Van Vliet, and was ranked at number 49 on “Rolling Stone’s 100 Greatest Album Covers” list.


  • Captain Beefheart(Don Van Vliet) – vocals, Chinese gongs, harmonica, soprano saxophone, bass clarinet
  • John French– slide guitar, guitar, marimba, bass, drums
  • Bruce Lambourne Fowler– trombone
  • Jeff Moris Tepper– slide guitar, guitar, nerve guitar
  • Eric Drew Feldman– synthesizer, bass, mellotron, grand piano, electric piano
  • Robert Arthur Williams– drums
  • Gary Lucas– guitar, French horn

Track listing:

All tracks by Don Van Vliet.

  1. Hot Head
  2. Ashtray Heart
  3. A Carrot is as Close as a Rabbit Gets to a Diamond
  4. Run Paint Run Run
  5. Sue Egypt
  6. Brickbats
  7. Dirty Blue Gene
  8. Best Batch Yet
  9. Telephone
  10. Flavor Bud Living
  11. Sheriff of Hong Kong
  12. Making Love to a Vampire with a Monkey on My Knee

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.