John Coltrane: Black Pearls

In August 1964, “Prestige” label released “Black Pearls”, the twelve John Coltrane album. It was recorded on May 23, 1958, at “Van Gelder Studio” in Hackensack, New Jersey, and was produced by Bob Weinstock.


  • John Coltrane– tenor saxophone
  • Donald Byrd– trumpet
  • Red Garland– piano
  • Paul Chambers– bass
  • Art Taylor– drums

Track listing:

  1. Black Pearls – John Coltrane
  2. Lover, Come Back to Me – Oscar Hammerstein II, Sigmund Romberg
  3. Sweet Sapphire Blues – Bob Weinstock

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.