On July 15, 1983.

On July 15, 1983, “Mercury” label released “The Crossing”, the debut Big Country studio album. It was recorded in May 1983, at “The Manor” in Oxfordshire, “RAK Studios” in London, and was produced by Steve Lillywhite. In December 1983, “The Crossing” was certified Platinum in Canada by “CRIA”, and in February 1984 it was certified Platinum in UK by the “BPI”.


  • Stuart Adamson– vocals, guitar, piano, e-bow
  • Bruce Watson – vocals, guitar, mandolin, sitar, e-bow
  • Tony Butler– vocals, bass
  • Mark Brzezicki – vocals, drums, percussion
  • Christine Beveridge – additional vocals
  • Will Gosling – engineer
  • Mike Nocito – engineer
  • Steve Chase – engineer

Track listing:

All tracks by Stuart Adamson, Mark Brzezicki, Tony Butler, Bruce Watson, except where noted.

  1. In a Big Country
  2. Chance
  3. 1000 Stars
  4. The Storm
  5. Harvest Home
  6. Lost Patrol
  7. Close Action
  8. Fields of Fire (400 Miles)
  9. Porrohman

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.