In July 1974.

In July 1974, “Epic” label released “Small Talk”, the seventh Sly and the Family Stone album. It was recorded in 1974, and was produced by Sly Stone.


  • Sly Stone – vocals, organ, guitar, piano, harmonica
  • Freddie Stone – guitar, backing vocals
  • Rose Stone – piano, keyboard, backing vocals
  • Rusty Allen – bass guitar
  • Andy Newmark, Bill Lordan – drums
  • Cynthia Robinson – trumpet
  • Jerry Martini – saxophone
  • Pat Rizzo – saxophone
  • Sid Page – violin
  • Little Sister (Vet Stone, Mary McCreary, Elva Mouton) – backing vocals
  • Ed Bogas– string arrangements
  • Karat Faye – engineer
  • Norman Seeff – cover photography

Track listing:

All tracks by Sylvester Stewart, save for “Small Talk”, written by Sylvester Stewart and W. Silva

  1. Small Talk
  2. Say You Will
  3. Mother Beautiful
  4. Time For Livin’
  5. Can’t Strain My Brain
  6. Loose Booty
  7. Holdin’ On
  8. Wishful Thinkin’
  9. Better Thee Than Me
  10. Livin’ While I’m Livin
  11. This is Love

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.