In June 1968.

In June 1968, “Polydor” label released the debut, self-titled Fairport Convention  album.  It was recorded in November 1967, at “Sound Techniques” in London, and was produced by Joe Boyd and Tod Lloyd.


  • Judy Dyble– lead vocals, electric and acoustic autoharps, recorder, piano
  • Ian MacDonald(Iain Matthews) – lead vocals, Jew’s harp
  • Richard Thompson– vocals, lead electric and acoustic guitars, mandolin
  • Simon Nicol– vocals, electric 12 and 6 string and acoustic guitars
  • Ashley Hutchings– bass guitar, jug, double bass
  • Martin Lamble– percussion, violin
  • Claire Lowther –cello

Track listing:

  1. Time Will Show the Wiser – Emitt Rhodes
  2. I Don’t Know Where I Stand – Joni Mitchell
  3. If (Stomp) – Ian MacDonald,Richard Thompson
  4. Decameron – Paul Ghosh, Andrew Horvitch, Richard Thompson
  5. Jack O’Diamonds – Bob Dylan,Ben Carruthers
  6. Portfolio – Judy Dyble,Tyger Hutchings
  7. Chelsea Morning – Joni Mitchell
  8. Sun Shade – Paul Ghosh, Andrew Horvitch, Richard Thompson
  9. The Lobster – George Painter, Tyger Hutchings, Richard Thompson
  10. It’s Alright Ma, It’s Only Witchcraft – Tyger Hutchings, Richard Thompson
  11. One Sure Thing – Harvey Brooks,Jim Glover
  12. M1 Breakdown – Tyger Hutchings,Simon Nicol

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.