In May 1979.

In May 1979, “Columbia” label released “Flag”, the ninth James Taylor studio album. It was recorded January-March 1979, and was produced by Peter Asher.


  • James Taylor — vocals, guitar
  • Peter Asher— vocals, timbales
  • Graham Nash— vocals
  • Carly Simon— vocals
  • David Spinozza— guitar, strings
  • Waddy Wachtel— acoustic, electric and slide guitar
  • Dan Dugmore— pedal steel guitar
  • Danny Kortchmar— guitar
  • Don Grolnick— keyboards
  • Ralph Schuckett— keyboards
  • Leland Sklar— bass
  • Russ Kunkel— drums, percussion
  • Steve Forman — percussion
  • David Sanborn— saxophone
  • Louise Schulmann — viola
  • Jesse Levy — cello
  • Arif Mardin— strings
  • Arnold McCuller— backing vocals
  • Alex Taylor— backing vocals
  • David Lasley— backing vocals

Track listing:

All tracks by James Taylor except where noted.

  1. Company Man Johnnie Comes Back
  2. Day Tripper – John Lennon, Paul McCartney
  3. I Will Not Lie for You
  4. Brother Trucker
  5. Is That the Way You Look?
  6. S.U.R. (S.U.C.S.I.M.I.M.)
  7. Rainy Day Man – James Taylor, Zach Wiesner
  8. Millworker
  9. Up on the Roof – Gerry Goffin, Carole King
  10. Chanson Française
  11. Sleep Come Free Me

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.