In May 1972.

In May 1972, “Columbia” label released “Skies of America”, the 17th Ornette Coleman album. It was recorded in April 1972, at “Abbey Road Studios” in London, and was produced by Paul Myers.


  • Ornette Coleman— alto saxophone
  • London Symphony Orchestra— instruments
  • David Measham— conductor
  • Anthony Clark, Mike FitzHenry —engineers
  • Ed Lee — cover design
  • Michael Gross — cover art

Track listing:

All tracks by Ornette Coleman.

  1. Skies of America
  2. Native Americans
  3. The Good Life
  4. Birthdays and Funerals
  5. Dreams
  6. Sounds of Sculpture
  7. Holiday for Heroes
  8. All of My Life
  9. Dancers
  10. The Soul Within Woman
  11. The Artists in America
  12. The New Anthem
  13. Place in Space
  14. Foreigner in A Free Land
  15. Silver Screen
  16. Poetry
  17. The Men Who Live in the White House
  18. Love Life
  19. The Military
  20. Jam Session
  21. Sunday in America

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.