In May 1972.

In May 1972, “Reprise” label released “Sail Away”, the third Randy Newman studio album. It was recorded in 1972, at “Amigo Studios”, “Western Studios”, “Poppi Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by Lenny Waronker and Russ Titelman. In 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked “Sail Away” at number 321 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”.


  • Randy Newman- vocals, piano, arranger
  • Ry Cooder- slide guitar
  • Russ Titelman- guitars
  • Chris Ethridge- bass
  • Wilton Felder- bass
  • Jimmy Bond- bass
  • Jim Keltner- drums
  • Gene Parsons- drums
  • Earl Palmer- drums
  • Milt Holland- percussion
  • Abe Most- alto saxophone

Track listing:

All tracks by Randy Newman.

  1. Sail Away
  2. Lonely at the Top
  3. He Gives Us All His Love
  4. Last Night I Had a Dream
  5. Simon Smith and the Amazing Dancing Bear
  6. Old man
  7. Political Science
  8. Burn On
  9. Memo to My Son
  10. Dayton Ohio-1903
  11. You Can Leave Your Hat On
  12. God’s Song (That’s Why I Love Mankind)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.