On May 28, 1971.

On May 28, 1971, “Mercury” label released “Every Picture Tells a Story”, the third Rod Stewart album. It was recorded in 1971, and was produced by Rod Stewart. In 2003, “Rolling Stone” magazine ranked the album at number 172 on its list of the “500 Greatest Albums of All Time”. “Every Picture Tells a Story” was certified Platinum in the US by the “RIIA”.


  • Rod Stewart- lead vocals, acoustic guitar
  • Ronnie Wood- electric guitar, 12-string guitar, slide guitar, pedal steel guitar, bass guitar
  • Martell Brandy – acoustic guitar
  • Sam Mitchell – resonator guitar
  • Martin Quittenton- classical guitar
  • Pete Sears- piano, celeste
  • Micky Waller- drums
  • Ian McLagan- organ, piano
  • Danny Thompson- upright bass
  • Andy Pyle- bass guitar
  • Dick Powell – violin
  • Long John Baldry- vocals
  • Maggie Bell- vocal abrasives
  • Madeline Belland friends – vocal abrasives
  • Lindsay Raymond Jackson- mandolin
  • Kenney Jones- drums
  • Ronnie Lane- bass guitar, backing vocals
  • Desmond Strobel – art direction
  • John Craig – design, illustration
  • Lisa Margolis – cover photography

Track listing:

  1. Every Picture Tells a Story – Rod Stewart,Ronnie Wood
  2. Seems Like a Long Time – Theodore Anderson
  3. That’s All Right – Arthur Crudup
  4. Amazing Grace – traditional, arranged Rod Stewart
  5. Tomorrow Is a Long Time -Bob Dylan
  6. Henry – Martin Quittenton
  7. Maggie May – Rod Stewart
  8. Mandolin Wind – Rod Stewart
  9. (I Know) I’m Losing You – Norman Whitfield,Eddie Holland, Cornelius Grant
  10. Reason to Believe – Tim Hardin


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.