In April 1963.

In April 1963, “Reprise” label released “Afro-Bossa”, album by Duke Ellington. It was recorded November 29, 1962, December 20, 1962 and January 4 – 5, 1963, at “Fine Studios” in New York.


  • Duke Ellington– piano
  • Billy Strayhorn– piano
  • Ray Nance– cornet, violin
  • Cat Anderson, Roy Burrowes, Cootie Williams– trumpet
  • Lawrence Brown, Buster Cooper– trombone
  • Chuck Connors – bass trombone
  • Jimmy Hamilton– clarinet, tenor saxophone
  • Johnny Hodges– alto saxophone
  • Russell Procope– alto saxophone, clarinet
  • Paul Gonsalves– tenor saxophone
  • Harry Carney– baritone saxophone, clarinet, bass clarinet
  • Ernie Shepard – bass
  • Sam Woodyard– drums

Track listing:

:All tracks by Duke Ellington except where noted.

  1. Afro-Bossa
  2. Purple Gazelle
  3. Absinthe – Billy Strayhorn
  4. Moonbow
  5. Sempre Amoré
  6. Caliné – Silk Lace
  7. Tigress – Billy Strayhorn
  8. Angu
  9. Volupté
  10. Bonga
  11. Pyramid – Duke Ellington, Irving Gordon, Irving Mills, Juan Tizol
  12. Eighth Veil – Duke Ellington, Billy Strayhorn

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.