In March 1974.

In March 1974, “Kirshner” label released the debut, self-titled Kansas album. It was recorded in 1973 at “Record Plant Studios” in New York City, and was produced by Wally Gold.


  • Steve Walsh– lead and backing vocals, piano, organ, Fender Rhodes, congas
  • Kerry Livgren – guitars, piano, organ, Moog synthesizer, backing vocals
  • Robby Steinhardt– lead and backing vocals, violin
  • Rich Williams– acoustic and electric guitars
  • Dave Hope– bass, backing vocals
  • Phil Ehart– drums
  • Jay Siegel – vocals
  • Dan Turbeville – engineer
  • Kevin “Whip” Herron, Jimmy “Shoes” Iovine – engineer assistant
  • Tom Rabstenek, Greg Caldi – mastering
  • Ed Lee – design
  • John Steuart Curry – painting
  • Don Hunstein – photography

Track listing:

  1. Can I Tell You – Rich Williams, Phil Ehart, Dave Hope, Steve Walsh
  2. Bringing It Back – J.J. Cale
  3. Lonely Wind – Steve Walsh
  4. Belexes – Kerry Livgren
  5. Journey from Mariabronn – Kerry Livgren, Steve Walsh
  6. The Pilgrimage – Kerry Livgren, Steve Walsh
  7. Aperçu – Kerry Livgren, Steve Walsh
  8. Death of Mother Nature Suite – Kerry Livgren

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.