In January 1975.


In January 1975, “Chrysalis” label released “Commoners Crown”, the seventh  Steeleye Span album. It was recorded September-October 1974, at “Morgan Studios” in London, and was produced by Maddy Prior, Tim Hart, Bob Johnson, Rick Kemp, Nigel Pegrum and Robin Black.


  • Maddy Prior- vocals
  • Tim Hart- vocals, guitar, appalachian dulcimer
  • Bob Johnson- vocals, guitar
  • Rick Kemp- bass guitar, drums
  • Peter Knight- violin
  • Nigel Pegrum- drums, flute
  • Peter Sellers- ukulele

Track listing:

  1. Little Sir Hugh – traditional
  2. Bach Goes To Limerick – Tim THart, Bob Johnson, Rick Kemp,  Peter Knight, Nigel Pegrum, Maddy Prior
  3. Long Lankin – traditional
  4. Dogs and Ferrets -traditional
  5. Galtee Farmer – traditional
  6. Demon Lover – traditional
  7. Elf Call – traditional
  8. Weary Cutters – traditiona
  9. New York Girls – traditional

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.