On November 14, 1995.


On November 14, 1995, “Elektra” label released “New Beginning”, the  fourth Tracy Chapman album. It was recorded 1994 – 1995, and was produced by Tracy Chapman and Don Gehman. The album was certified 3 x Platinum in Australia by “ARIA”; 7 x Platinum in Canada by “Music Canada”; Platinum in New Zealand by “RMNZ”, and 5 x Platinum in the US by “RIIA”.


  • Tracy Chapman – lead and backing vocals, organ, acoustic and electric guitar
  • Adam Levy – electric guitar, backing vocals
  • John Thomas– piano
  • John Philip Shenale– keyboard
  • Andy Stoller – bass, tanboura, backing vocals
  • Rock Deadrick – drums, percussion, backing vocals
  • Steve Ferrone– drums
  • Glenys Rogers – percussion, backing vocals
  • Eric Rigler – Tin whistle, Uilleann pipes
  • Scott Roewe – didgeridoo
  • Lili Haydn– violin
  • Cameron Stone – cello
  • Don Gehman – engineer
  • John Ewing, Jr., Kevin Scott, Doug Trantow – engineer assistant
  • Don Gehman – mixing
  • Eddy Schreyer – mastering
  • Lee Cantelon – art direction
  • Lee Cantelon – design
  • Lavonne Murlowski – layout
  • Christine Alicino – photography
  • Diane Medak – production coordinator

Track listing:

All tracks by Tracy Chapman.

  1. Heaven’s Here on Earth
  2. Start All Over
  3. Smoke and Ashes
  4. Cold Feet
  5. At This Point in My Life
  6. The Promise
  7. The Rape of the World
  8. Tell It Like It Is
  9. Give Me One Reason
  10. Remember the Tinman
  11. I’m Ready
  12. Save a Place For Me

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.