On November 12, 2001.


On November 12, 2001, “Parlaphone” label released “Driving Rain”, the twelfth Paul McCartney studio album. It was recorded February – June 2001, at “Henson Recording Studios” in Los Angeles, and was produced by David Kahne.


  • Paul McCartney – vocals, bass, acoustic and electric guitars, piano, Fender Rhodes, drums, percussion, knee slaps,  photography, executive producer
  • Eric Clapton– guitar
  • Abe Laboriel Jr. – drums, tambourine, Roland handsonic electronic percussion, African drum samples, accordion, backing vocals
  • Rusty Anderson–  electric, pedal steel and acoustic guitars, bass guitar, percussion,  tampura, backing vocals
  • Gabe Dixon– Wurlitzer electric piano, piano, Hammond organ, Fender Rhodes, backing vocals
  • David Kahne– Roland organ, electric guitar, synths, orchestral samples, Wurlitzer, sampled strings
  • James McCartney– percussion, electric guitar
  • Ralph Morrison – violin
  • String quartet:
    • Joel Derouin – violin
    • David Campbell – viola
    • Matt Funes – viola
    • Larry Corbett – cello
  • Heather Mills– arrangements
  • Mark Dearnley – engineer
  • Jaime Sickora – engineer assistant
  • Kevin Mills – 2nd assistant engineer
  • Geoff Emerick, Paul Hicks– additional engineer
  • Mark Dearnley, David Kahne – mixing
  • David Leonard– mixing
  • Stephen Marcussen – mastering
  • Stewart Whitmore – digital editing
  • Norman Hathaway, Micha Weidmann, Donat Raetzo – design

Track listing:

All tracks by Paul McCartney, except where noted.

  1. Lonely Road
  2. From a Lover to a Friend
  3. She’s Given Up Talking
  4. Driving Rain
  5. I Do
  6. Tiny Bubble
  7. Magic
  8. Your Way
  9. Spinning on an Axis – Paul McCartney, James McCartney
  10. About You
  11. Heather
  12. Back in the Sunshine Again – Paul McCartney, James McCartney
  13. Your Loving Flame
  14. Riding into Jaipur
  15. Rinse the Raindrops
  16. Freedom (studio mix)

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.